Skip to Main Content

Academic Libraries of Indiana (ALI): ALI Annual Meeting

The ALI Executive Board warmly welcomes the Deans and Directors of ALI institutions and the chairs of ALI committees to join us for our Annual Meeting on May 13, 2024 at the Indiana University Law Library (IU, Indianapolis). While we would love to see everyone at the meeting in person, it is also possible to participate over Zoom for those unable to make the trip. If you are a voting member of the ALI Board and are unable to participate, please designate a proxy to attend and vote in your absence.  Lunch will be provided for those who attend in person. Please RSVP by responding to this survey.

Confirmed attendees will receive an email with additional information about lunch orders, parking information, and a campus map during the week of May 6, 2024.

ALI Annual Meeting Details

ALI Annual Meeting

9:30 AM-4 PM

May 13, 2024

Ruth Lilly Law Library
Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law
530 W. New York St., Indianapolis, IN 46202



  • Welcome (10:00am - 10:10am)
  • Presentation: Libraries Under Pressure (10:15am - 11:15am). Speaker: Steven J. Bell
  • Break (11:15am - 11:30am)
  • Onsite Facilitated Discussion (11:30am - 12:30pm). Potential Topics Include
    • Apparent decrease in perceived value of libraries.
    • What are some coping mechanisms?
    • How do we advocate and/or navigate administrations?
  • Lunch (12:30pm - 1:15pm)
  • Committee Updates (1:15pm - 2:00pm)
    • Of particular interest is what committees need that members could help with.
  • Organizational Business (2:00pm - 2:30pm)
    • Secretary’s Report
    • Treasurer’s Report
    • Elections
      • Board
      • At-large
      • Officers
  • Break (2:30pm - 2:45pm)
  • Continuation of Discussion on ALI Directions (2:45pm - 4:00pm)
    • Review of Last Years’ Annual Meeting Discussion
    • Review Task Force Findings
    • Review Lyrasis Annual Report
    • What is the best way for us to engage with organizations to get volunteer participation?
  • Adjourn (4:00pm)

Jessica Mahoney, Director of Library Services and Assessment, B. F. Hamilton Library, Franklin College


Jessica Mahoney, MLS, serves as the Director of Library Services and Assessment at the B.F. Hamilton Library of Franklin College. As an Associate Professor and previous Information Literacy Librarian at Franklin (2011-2022), she received her Master of Library Science from Indiana University and her Bachelor of Arts in English/Secondary Education from Franklin College of Franklin, Indiana.


Currently finishing her term as the 2023 ALI Board of Directors At-Large position, she is a PALNI board member and maintains at-large membership in the American Library Association and the Association of College and Research Libraries.  In 2020, she received 'The Faculty Steering Committee Distinguished Service Award', by faculty nomination, for her service to Franklin College. Additionally, Jessica was deemed an 'Honorary Member' of Alpha Mu Gamma (2022) for her mentoring of undergraduate scholarship in foreign languages, and she was inducted into the 'PALNI Hall of Fame' (2017) for her longstanding investment in advancing the efforts of PALNI's Reference, Instruction, and Outreach Steering Committee. 

She co-leads the College's faculty athletic mentoring pilot project and sits on the College's Lilly-Endowed Digital Fluency Steering Committee. Furthermore, she mentors public history students through a 'Humanities Research for the Public Good' (2023) grant awarded by The Council of Independent Colleges (CIC) with community partners, the Indiana Historical Society, the Johnson County Museum of History, and the Private Academic Library Network of Indiana (PALNI). 



Amy Bryant, Library Director, Earlham College


Amy Bryant headshot

Amy Bryant has been the Library Director at Earlham College since 2020 and she has been a librarian at Earlham for nearly 24 years. Her professional interests include first-generation student success, faculty/librarian collaborations for off-campus research, and how AI may impact librarianship. She has co-written two book chapters and presented multiple times on the success of Earlham Libraries’ program to support first-generation student success. She is a member of ALA and ACRL. She received her MLS from Indiana University in 2000.