The following list of articles is extensive so we've included the abstracts so you can best determine which ones to read and/or just review the abstracts for a sense of the kinds of topics that can be explored at the UnConference. The key concept is "collaboration" with information literacy being the traditional (in the classroom) or through marketing, liasion services, reference & research support, digitization initiatives, etc.
Record: 1
Title:
COMMUNITY COLLABORATION for Inquiry Success.
Authors:
Fuller, Cherry1,2,3, fullerc4libr@verizon.net
Byerly, Gayla4, gayla.byerly@unt.edu
Kearley, Donna5, dkearley@dentonisd.org
Ramin, Lilly6, lillylibrarian@gmail.com
Source:
Knowledge Quest; Nov/Dec2014, Vol. 43 Issue 2, p56-59, 4p, 1 Color Photograph
Abstract:
The article focuses on the collaboration by librarians in Denton, Texas on a community reading initiative by creating a K-20 information literacy curriculum that included an inquiry focus. Topics covered include inquiry skills that would be prepare students for the transition between high school and college research, the Guided Inquiry Design used by the librarians as the inquiry model, and the change in the instructional role of librarians under the inquiry model.
Record: 2
Title:
CONNECTING INSPIRATION WITH INFORMATION.
Authors:
Greer, Katie1
Source:
Communications in Information Literacy; 2015, Vol. 9 Issue 1, p83-94, 12p
Abstract:
This article discusses the partnership between the library and the studio art faculty at Oakland University that led to the integration of information literacy instruction into the studio art curriculum. The author outlines the importance of information literacy to artistic practice and student success, and discusses the program of instruction and learning outcomes. Early assessment of student needs and the program's effectiveness, using both citation analysis and anecdotal feedback, reveals that the program has contributed to the maturation of student research and inquiry skills, and positively affected the relationship between the department and the library, and provides preliminary conclusions about undergraduate studio art information behaviors. An ongoing further program of study to more fully describe the information needs of undergraduate studio art students is also outlined. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]
Copyright of Communications in Information Literacy is the property of Communications in Information Literacy and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)
Record: 3
Title:
Effective Collaborations in Multi-Campus and Online Environments Using LibGuides.
Authors:
Rose, Rebecca1
Cullen, Mary Ann2
Slutskaya, Sofia A.3
Source:
Georgia Library Quarterly; Spring2016, Vol. 53 Issue 2, p11-29, 19p
Abstract:
The article presents a series of case studies on collaborations among instructors, departments, and other groups in both multi-campus and online environments at Georgia Perimeter College. LibGuides tool was adopted for the collaborative projects. Streaming videos for virtual library instruction were formed to address the increasing need for library services. Guides for English tutorials and dental hygiene were also created.
Record: 4
Title:
Authors:
Messner, Kevin R.1
Source:
Abstract:
EDITOR'S SUMMARY Since 2012 the 3D printing operation at Miami University's Business, Engineering, Science and Technology Library has developed into a high demand service that promotes learning for a broad range of users. With the first two basic 3D printers set up in separate locations, multiple operators developed skills and provided backup support for each other. A variety of user groups emerged beyond the expected subject disciplines and applications, and, with a growing circle of users, students have been employed for printing tasks, gaining technical skills and enabling the library to expand its services. Placing printers in highly visible locations prompted interest and interactions among onlookers. Strong demand for the 3D printing service has necessitated coordination between the library and departments, collaboration between departments, prioritization of needs and funding for more durable equipment, while stimulating developments in curricula and research agendas. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]
Copyright of Bulletin of the Association for Information Science & Technology is the property of John Wiley & Sons, Inc. and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)
Record: 5
Title:
Authors:
Pasek, Judith E.1, jpasek@uwyo.edu
Source:
College & Research Libraries News; Apr2015, Vol. 76 Issue 4, p202-205, 4p
Abstract:
The article presents a concept map for organizing and planning librarian liaison activities in the current academic environment in the U.S. Topics discussed include the importance of campus collaboration, the need for librarians to participate in departmental events and colloquiums, and ways to increase visibility and communication with students.
Record: 6
Title:
Revising the "One-Shot" through Lesson Study: Collaborating with Writing Faculty to Rebuild a Library Instruction Session.
Authors:
Watson, Shevaun E.1, watsonse@uwec.edu
Rex, Cathy2, rexcj@uwec.edu
Markgraf, Jill3, markgrjs@uwec.edu
Kishel, Hans4, kishelhf@uwec.edu
Jennings, Eric5, jenninge@uwec.edu
Hinnant, Kate6, hinnanks@uwec.edu
Source:
College & Research Libraries; Jul2013, Vol. 74 Issue 4, p381-398, 18p
Document Type:
Article
Abstract:
The one-shot library instruction session has long been a mainstay for many information literacy programs. Identifying realistic learning goals, integrating active learning techniques, and conducting meaningful assessment for a single lesson all present challenges. Librarians and English faculty at one college campus confronted these challenges by participating in a year-long lesson study, a process of collaboratively planning, observing, and assessing a single lesson. By collectively identifying goals and priorities, designing and redesigning the lesson, and assessing outcomes through observation, surveys, and focus groups, librarians and teaching faculty negotiated varying expectations and demands for providing one-shot library instruction. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]
Copyright of College & Research Libraries is the property of American Library Association and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)
Record: 7
Title:
Strengthening On-Campus Relationships via an Annual Student Art Commission.
Authors:
Oliver, Astrid1
Source:
Journal of Library Innovation; 2012, Vol. 3 Issue 2, p89-104, 16p
Document Type:
Article
Abstract:
Reed Library developed an annual student art competition in partnership with the Art Department at Fort Lewis College in Durango, Colorado. The partnership provided students with a real-world art commission experience, increased collaboration between the Library and Art Department, raised awareness of the Library across campus, and created a system to exhibit new art in the Library. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]
Copyright of Journal of Library Innovation is the property of Western New York Library Resources Council and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)
Record: 8
Title:
The Blended Desk and its Consequences on Collaboration.
Authors:
Magee, Christopher1, christopher.magee@gmail.com
Perini, Michael1, mperini@gmu.edu
Source:
Collaborative Librarianship; 2014, Vol. 6 Issue 3, p124-129, 6p
Document Type:
Article
Abstract:
This article discusses the complications arising from the implementation of the "blended desk" model in an academic library and its influence on intra-organizational collaboration. Blended desks combine the physical spaces of traditional Circulation and Reference desks and staff in an arrangement with a new desk and multi-skilled individuals. Traditionally dissimilar mentalities and skill sets of the Circulation and Reference personnel along with a culture reflecting typical academic hierarchy all create impediments to the success of this service model. Given this, various reconsiderations of the blended desk model are suggested. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]
Copyright of Collaborative Librarianship is the property of Colorado Library Consortium (CLiC) and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)
Record: 9
Title:
The Flipped Classroom as a Tool for Engaging Discipline Faculty in Collaboration: A Case Study in Library-Business Collaboration.
Authors:
Cohen, Madeline E.1
Source:
New Review of Academic Librarianship; Jan-Mar2016, Vol. 22 Issue 1, p5-23, 19p
Document Type:
Case Study
Abstract:
This case study focuses on an innovative approach to the flipped classroom as a tool for productive library-discipline faculty collaboration on information literacy instruction. The argument is presented that the flipped classroom can be a pathway into the disciplines that can be used in overcoming the disadvantages of the one-shot and other barriers to collaboration. The case study will outline the reasons for a successful collaboration on integrating information literacy into this undergraduate business course and for its extension to five additional business courses. Practical examples of learning outcomes, in-class activities, and assessment are provided. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]
Copyright of New Review of Academic Librarianship is the property of Routledge and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)